top of page

PRCC recognizes exceptional students at 2022 Awards Day

Laura O'Neill -- PRCC Communications & Customer Service Coordinator

POPLARVILLE, Miss. — Pearl River Community College hosted its annual Awards Day ceremony on Tuesday in the Ethel Holden Brownstone Center for the Arts. Students, faculty, staff, family and friends joined together in celebrating the success of these students while wishing them success in their future endeavors.

Vice President for Poplarville Campus and Student Services Jeff Long welcomed everyone to the ceremony. He took time to thank each group in attendance as each played a role in making it all possible.

The presentations began with recognizing the two students in Phi Theta Kappa named to the All-Mississippi Academic Team this year, Erin Clifford of Ocean Springs and Takia Young of Lumberton. Clifford was also recognized as a Phi Theta Kappa 2022 Coca Cola Gold Scholar.

PRCC President Dr. Adam Breerwood presented the University of Southern Mississippi Presidential Transfer Scholarship to Maggie Gressett of Lake.

Each department representing career technical education programs and main academic pathway presented a “Student of the Year” award to the top student. The nursing department presented several different awards for specific areas of nursing instruction.

Department of Business Technology Accounting Technology: Taliea Carter of Petal Business Management Technology: Jodi Jarrell of Carriere Medical Billing and Coding Technology: Joni-Lynn Williford of Carriere

Department of Family & Consumer Sciences Barbering: Victoria Faciene Evans of Carriere Cosmetology: Jamie Thompson of Carriere Early Childhood Technology: Hannah Forbes of Sandy Hook

Department of Drafting & Instructional Technology Automation & Controls Technology: Connor Lee of Bay St. Louis Drafting & Design Technology: Katie Farmer of Picayune Electronics Technology: Jorge Alcantara of Carriere

Department of Fine Arts and Communication Theatre: Miranda Dickson of Lucedale Music Vocal: Savannah Diamond of Lumberton Music Instrumental: Charles Byrd of Lumberton Public Speaking: Chandani Patel of Diamondhead Art: Maximus Jones of Foxworth

Department of Humanities and Social Sciences Criminal Justice: Holden Nored of Hattiesburg English: Ladiya Hayes of D’lo and Corrina Law of Poplarville History: Kennedy Baham of Carriere and Conner Mallette of Vancleave Psychology: Kaitlin Bennett of Picayune Sociology: Stephanie Shawver of Picayune

Department of Marketing, Media, & Information Technology Business Marketing & Management Technology: Lauren Lee of Picayune Computer Networking Technology: Rory O’Neill of Poplarville Film and Video Technology: Mason Runnels of Hattiesburg

Department of Nursing Education Dosage Calculations for Nursing: Mikel Foley of Petal Fundamentals of Nursing: Lauren Lagman of Picayune Medical/Surgical Nursing I: Jeremiah Holmes of Foxworth LPN to ADN Day: Faris Brown of Columbia Women’s Health & Newborn Nursing: Kristen Toohey of Slidell, LA Nursing Care of Children: Logan Cuevas of Purvis Mental Health: Bryce Moran of Kiln Medical/Surgical Nursing II: Hannah Lods of Carriere Poplarville Day Outstanding Practical Nursing Student: Alyson Waizenegger of Saucier

Department of Occupational Training Automotive Technology: Troy Chambliss of Hattiesburg Electrical Technology: Lindsey Faye Nunn of Purvis Heating, AC & Refrigeration Technology: Philip Toler of Carriere Welding Technology: Nicholas Powell of Vicksburg

Department of Science, Mathematics, and Business Accounting: Lyndsey Lee of Carriere Biology: Emma Bahr of Ocean Springs Business: Anniston Childs of Poplarville Chemistry: Emily Rigney of Waynesboro and Madilyn Waters of Laurel Computer Sciences: Khoa Nguyen of Bay St. Louis Physics: Jaiden Burns of Carriere Mathematics: Annie Ladner of Perkinston Engineering: Bradley Stines of Poplarville Anatomy and Physiology: Chandani Patel of Diamondhead

Hancock Center Leadership: Christopher Fortner of Bay St. Louis Citizenship: Cassandra Lassabe of Bay St. Louis English: Christopher Fortner of Bay St. Louis History: Cameron Ingersoll of Bay St. Louis Mathematics: Rachel Meadows of Bay St. Louis Psychology: Cameron Ingersoll of Bay St. Louis Sociology: Jennifer Antoine of Pass Christian Welding Technology: Sheldon Moore of Waveland Unmanned Aerial Systems: Caleb Malone of Diamondhead Nursing: Erroll Bowser of Pass Christian

Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation Male Scholar Athlete: Matt Mercer of Richton Female Scholar Athlete: Bryanna Taylor of Byram Wildcat Wellness: Chandler Dickson of Hattiesburg and Jenniya Milton of Braxton

The Wildcat Way Award 2021-2022 Every year faculty nominate students who best exemplify living out the “Wildcat Way.” They show the attributes of Pride, Respect, Class, and Character both in and out of the classroom.

Jaiden Burnes of Carriere Grant Holladay of Kiln Annie Ladner of Perkinston Kristina Langley of Lumberton Taylor Lauckner of Diamondhead Sydney Salter of Vancleave Bradley Stines of Poplarville Kellie Watts of Picayune Carson Ward of Luin Justin Whitfield of Picayune

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats), Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS), and Facebook (@PRCCMKTG).



bottom of page