top of page

Luke wins mayoral race; Stevens and Bogan-Bumpers win re-election to city council

Jim Luke received 1,036 votes to defeat Lavern Guy, who received 365 votes, to give Luke the win in the mayor’s race for the City of Picayune.

Incumbent Jan Stevens defeated Fred Smith 101 votes to 19 votes to win re-election in Ward 3 City Council race and incumbent Lynn Bogan-Bumpers defeated Terrilyn Griffith by a count of 233 to 55 votes in Ward 2.

It was announced after the counting of the votes in Precinct 5 that Claiborne “Buddy” McDonald IV, Steve McDonald, and Jimmy Watts each received a write-in vote for mayor.

There were 6,784 registered voters in the City of Picayune as reported at the conclusion of the primary election months ago by the city clerk’s office.



bottom of page