top of page

City elections to be held in Picayune tomorrow (April 6th)

Picayune’s mayoral race has three candidates. Jim Luke and Tammy Valente will be on the ballot in the Republican primary. Democrat Leaverne Guy will automatically move on to General Election on June 8th and face the winner of the Republican Primary.

In the election for the five city council positions, two of the races will be decided on Tuesday, Precinct 1 and Precinct 4.

Precinct 1 -- Two Republicans, Anna Turnage and Antha Mitchell are on the ballot. The winner will run unopposed in the general election. The Precinct 1 voting will be at the Fire Station at 233 Adcox Rd behind Claiborne Hill Supermarket.

Precinct 2 -- Has three candidates. Independent and incumbent Lynn Bumpers, will be in the general election and two Democratic candidates Dimitri Johnson and Terilyn Griffith will vie to meet Bumpers in June. The winner between Johnson and Griffith will face Bumpers in the general election. Precinct 2 will vote at First United Methodist, at 323 N. Haugh Ave.

Precinct 3 -- The race between Republican candidate, Jan Stevens and Democratic candidate David Fred Smith will be decided in the general election in June. Precinct 3 votes at the National Guard Armory, at 1300 Highway 11 S.

Precinct 4 --Two Democratic candidates, incumbent Larry Breland and challenger Vernon Robinson, will decide this seat on the council in the primary. There is no Republican candidate. The winner will run unopposed in the general election. Precinct 4 votes at South Side Elementary, 400 S. Beech St.

Precinct 5 --There are three Republican candidates, Frank Ford, Larry Cagle and Robert May, so the race between them could be decided in the Republican primary if any of the three receive 50 percent of the votes plus one vote. A runoff, if necessary, will held on April 27. The winner will run unopposed in the general election. Precinct 5 votes at the Margaret Reed Crosby Memorial Library, 900 Goodyear Blvd.

As stated, the runoff for the primary election, if needed, will be April 27 and the general election will be June 8. Winning candidates will take office in July.



bottom of page