top of page

Celebrating Academic Excellence: PRCC's Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Inducts 46 Exceptional Students

Laura O'Neill- PRCC Marketing and Communication

Pearl River Community College's Iota Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa proudly welcomed 46 outstanding students into its esteemed ranks during a special induction ceremony held on Monday, March 19. Held at the elegant Brownstone Center for the Arts, the event was a testament to the hard work and dedication of these students, who exemplify the highest standards of academic achievement.  

The foremost honor society for two-year colleges, Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) currently has over 1,300 chapters worldwide. This evening was the Iota Mu Chapter’s 67th induction ceremony. The chapter covers both the Hancock and Poplarville campuses.  

Membership is reserved for students who have proven their dedication to academic achievement, requiring a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.4 and the completion of at least 12 credit hours of non-remedial coursework. 

Scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship are the four hallmarks of PTK. The current officers briefly shared personal reflections on how these hallmarks have shaped their journey within PTK. 

Attendees heard from Dr. Kristi Motter, Vice President of Student Affairs and Enrollment Manager at The University of Southern Mississippi. She talked about how we can give a little something extra, some lagniappe, to our efforts as that will allow us to reap the rewards in the future.  

“Each and every aspect of your life, whether academically or personally, is based on the decisions that you make, your accomplishments,” said Motter.

“Your choices or decisions provided the opportunity for us to celebrate you today. As you progress on this journey, continue to make those good decisions, focus on better choices and apply a little something extra.” 

For students considering the transition from community college to a four-year institution, PTK serves as a transfer resource to its members. Many colleges and universities, especially those in Mississippi, offer special scholarships to PTK members with additional value for PTK officers.  

PRCC Vice President of Poplarville Campus and Student Services Jeff Long spoke to the students about how they exemplify the best of Pearl River Community College. He also thanked the students for showing pride in their work and their families for supporting them.  

“Thank you for getting that alarm clock waking up, going to class, going to study, going to the lab, and doing things right,” said Long. “You are what makes Pearl River Community College great. I can't wait to see what you will achieve in your time with Pearl River Community College.” 

Iota Mu Advisor Kira Arthurs shared more about the level of excellence the chapter has obtained. She mentioned last year’s placement as the second finalist for most Distinguished Chapter internationally awards received at the recent Mississippi-Louisiana Gala. For the second year, Iota Mu was named the Most Distinguished Chapter for the region, a highly competitive designation. Chapter Members will attend Catalyst, the international conference for PTK, in a few weeks where they will learn of any awards for the current year. 

Greeting inductees after the ceremony were representatives from Blue Mountain College, Mississippi State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Mississippi, The University of Southern Mississippi Gulf Park Campus, and William Carey University. 

PRCC students from Hancock and Poplarville campuses were inducted into the Iota Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on March 18, 2024

PRCC students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Iota Mu Chapter for spring 2024 semester are: 

Rondell Alexander, Picayune 

Kailey Allen, Columbia 

Joan Amacker, Petal 

Jhylan Barnes, Magnolia 

Sarah Bolin, Poplarville 

Donovan Bounds, Picayune 

Brandon Brooks, Purvis 

Jaliyah Brooks, Foxworth 

Meg Broom, Columbia 

Olivia Broom, Poplarville 

Olivia Coleman, McNeil 

Lillian Diamond, Lumberton 

Byron Expose, Columbia 

Jillian Hollis, Poplarville 

Ashlynn Goss, Picayune 

Yasmine Haynes, Sandy Hook 

Hunter Herring, Sandy Hook 

Hannah Hopkins, Picayune 

Anna Kate Hutson, Sumrall 

Radhika Khetia, Carriere 

Blake Kiefer, Carriere 

Anajah Laneaux, Bay St. Louis 

Kaitlyn Langenstein, Poplarville 

Abigail Long, Kiln 

Jakaden Mark, Sandy Hook 

Victoria Martin, Carriere 

Katherine McCain, Oak Grove 

Kaniya McDaniel, Brookhaven 

Mya McInnis, Hattiesburg 

Madison Morgan, Pine, LA 

Lydia Pace, Columbia 

Shawn Palmer, Picayune 

Morgan Patrick, Brandon 

Andrew Pickens, Gautier 

Elizabeth Purvis, Carriere 

Blayne Scharenbroch, Picayune 

Sheridan Shoemo, Columbia 

Marlee Smith, Picayune 

Mason Smith, Tylertown 

Laura Sones, Poplarville 

Lucas Stringer, Columbia 

Blair Tew, Tylertown 

Briana Tew, Tylertown 

Naomi Williamson, Wiggins 

Kennedy Wilson, Gulfport 

Zoe Wilson, Carriere 


For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats), Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS), and Facebook (@PRCCMKTG



bottom of page