top of page

Republican Primary runoff elections tomorrow (Tuesday Aug 27th)

Tomorrow (Tuesday, August 27, 2019), there will be a runoff for the Mississippi House of Representatives District 106 between incumbent John Glen Corley and Jansen Owen. The winner of the runoff will be unopposed in the November General Election and thus be the winner.

Looking at a brief history of the seat in District 106, a special election was called on November 8, 2016 to fill the seat that was left vacant following Herb Frierson's (R) resignation on June 30, 2016, after he was appointed as commissioner of revenue for the state of Mississippi. John Glen Corley, Larry D. Davis, Greg Holcomb, Ben Winston, and Daniel Wise faced off in the special election. Since no candidate received more than 50 percent of the vote, the top two vote-getters, Corley and Holcomb, met in a runoff election, which Corley won.

On August 6, 2019, in the Republican Primary, four candidates including Corley, Holcomb, Winston, and newcomer Jansen Owen squared off. Owen received 1,934 (41.5%), Corley 1,427 (30.5%), Holcomb 818 (17.6%), and Winston 484 (10.4%) of the votes cast in Pearl River and Lamar counties.

In the Supervisor District 4 election for the Republican Primary, incumbent Farron Moeller tallied 624 votes (43.6 %), Jason Spence 517 (36.15%), Kathy Fayard Aden 259 (18.1%), and Joseph Amos Nix 28 (1.86%). Moeller and Spence will be in a runoff tomorrow.

Larry Head and Benjamin Breland will be in the runoff for North Justice Court Judge. In the Primary, Head had 1,549 votes (37.62%), Breland 1,469 (35.67%), and George “Trent” Boyd had 1,096 (26.61%).

WRJW radio (1320 AM, WRJW app, and will once again provide live coverage of the results beginning at 8:00 p.m. from the courthouse in Poplarville.


bottom of page