top of page

PRCC’s top students receive awards

POPLARVILLE - Top students at Pearl River Community College received awards Tuesday, April 17, during a program in the Brownstone Center. Recipients of the new The Wildcat Way Award exemplify the PRCC motto of Pride, Respect, Class and Character.

They are Camden Dusang, Alejandra Alcantara and Taylor Martinolich, all of Carriere; Tyler Ladner, McKinsy Harris and Dalton Spiers, all of Poplarville; Will Lee and Taylor Ramsey, both of Hattiesburg; Carmen Douglas of Sumrall, Calynn Ladner of Pass Christian, Samuel Palode of Pearlington, Hannah Ladner of Kiln, Stanton Ladner of Perkinston, Austin Warner of Franklinton, La., and Ryan Barnes of Slidell, La.

Alcantara and Gage Kennedy of Kiln were recognized for their selection to the 2018 Phi Theta Kappa All-Mississippi Academic Second Team.

Basketball player Jerrod Rigby of Bay St. Louis and soccer player Kayla Nobles of Hurley were honored as Scholar Athletes of the Year.

The Leadership Award at the Hancock Center went to Haley Roberts of Gulfport and Madison Roberts of Kiln received the Hancock Center Citizenship Award.

Students who demonstrate the Pearl River Community College mantra of Pride, Respect, Class and Character recieved The Wildcat Way Award at the annual Awards Day on April 17. They are, seated from left, Carmen Douglas of Sumrall, Camden Dusang of Carriere, Calynn Ladner of Pass Christian, Tyler Ladner of Poplarville, Samuel Palode of Pearlington, Alejandra Alcantara of Carriere; standing, McKinsy Harris of Poplarville, Hannah Ladner of Kiln, Stanton Ladner of Perkinston, Will Lee of Hattiesburg, Dalton Spiers of Poplarville,Taylor Martinolich of Carriere, Taylor Ramsey of Hattiesburg, Austin Warner of Franklinton, La., PRCC President Dr. Adam Breerwood, and Ryan Barnes of Slidell, La.

Other awards are as follows:

Medical billing and coding - Aubrey Witsell of Poplarville.

Barbering- Tara Williamson of Hattiesburg.

Family and consumer science - Jennifer Cooley and Rebecca Kelly, both of Hattiesburg.

Theater - Lucas Williams of Picayune.

Music - Andrew Chase Mitchell of Hurley.

Speech - Courtney Sones of Carriere.

Special studios - Kaley Lambert of Poplarville.

Political science - McKinsy Harris of Poplarville.

Creative writing - Morgan Campbell of Hattiesburg.

Criminal justice and history- James Dyess of Prentiss.

English - Bailey Fornea of Sandy Hook.

Psychology - Jake Runyan of Picayune.

Sociology - Robert Holman of Poplarville and and Melanie Daley of Foxworth.

Spanish - Emily Lane of Picayune.

Fundamentals of nursing - Caroline Olvera of Picayune.

Medical/surgical nursing I - Caroline Whitfield of Picayune.

LPN to ADN bridge - Tyler Wagner of Slidell, La.

Women’s health and newborn nursing - Stephanie Ardis of Columbia.

Nursing care of children - Kailey Kemp of Hattiesburg.

Mental health nursing - Lauren Abercrombie of Carriere.

Medical/surgical nursing II - Lindsey Martin of Lumberton.

Electronics technology - Christian Mitchell of Picayune.

Accounting - Garyn Miller of Columbia.

Biology - Kayla Stein of Picayune.

Business - Ryan Counts of Carriere.

Chemistry and physics - Brandon Ashe of Picayune.

Computer sciences - Tyler Ladner of Poplarville.

Mathematics and engineering - Gage Kennedy of Kiln.

Anatomy and physiology - Mollie Lee of Poplarville.

Hancock Center English - Alexus Palode of Pearlington.

Hancock Center history - Sabrina Zazueta of Kiln.

Hancock Center mathematics and psychology - Savannah Hedden of Diamondhead.

Hancock Center sociology - Amanda Green of Kiln.

Hancock Center welding - Ray Pomeroy Gulfport.


bottom of page