top of page

PRC School Board of Trustees meeting held

At last night’s meeting of the Pearl River County School Board of Trustees, the board made numerous appointments for the coming school year, were given a singing performance by a group of third graders, recognized a spelling bee winner, elected new board officers, and learned who would be entering the Pearl River Central Sports Hall of Fame.

(L-R) Student Rep. Doc Herrin, Board members: Jeremy Weir, Jeff Jones, and Elaine Voss

Dr. Lori Burkett, currently the principal of the PRC Middle School, will become the principal of the newly formed PRC Elementary School (K-5) in the fall for the 2018-2019 school year. Kenny Peavey was approved to fill the position of School Psychometrist.

Mrs. Jennifer Teal, assistant principal for the PRC Lower Elementary, introduced a group of third grader who performed to honor those grandparents who were in attendance at the meeting. The Lower and Upper Elementary schools held Grandparents Day two weeks ago. A video of the performance is below.

Dr. Burkett recognized Carson Smith for winning the school and district spelling contests and she will represent the school district in the state competition in Jackson.

Carson Smith and Dr. Lori Burkett

The Board of Trustees elected Mrs. Elaine Voss to serve as President, Mr. Jeff Jones will serve as Vice President, and Mrs. Natalie Glorioso will be Treasurer for 2018-2019 school year.

Superintendent Alan Lumpkin announced that the Blue Devil Hall of Fame induction class for 2017-2018 will be held on Saturday, March 17th, at the baseball complex at noon. Inductees include female athlete Brittany Parks Phillips, male athlete Ben McGilton, coach Raymond Spiers, and the team to be inducted will be the 1995 varsity football team.


bottom of page