top of page

PRC school board recognized during meeting

Gage McClinton, Board Member Natalie Glorioso, and Noah Hebert

The Pearl River County Board of Education met last night and Superintendent Alan Lumpkin recognized the board members in advance of the state proclaimed week of February 11th through February 18th for school board recognition.

Superintendent Lumpkin took time to read Governor Phil Bryant’s proclamation for the statewide observance and added some comments about the local PRC board.

“We love you and we appreciate what you do. We are blessed with the leadership and the professionalism that we have on our school board is second to no other school board in the state of Mississippi,“ Lumpkin said after reading the governor’s proclamation.

Lumpkin, assisted by student representatives Gage McClinton and Noah Hebert, presented the school board members with a certificate of appreciation.

The board and those in attendance got a preview of this Friday’s school Mardi Gras Parade when Pearl River Lower Elementary K-2 Assistant Principal Shari Franklin brought a group of students to parade at the meeting.

During the meeting the board approved new hires for the fall, accepted resignations effective at the end of the school year, and also announced the retirement of two administrators effective at the end of the current school year.

Dr. Sharon Guepet will retire having served as principal of the PRC Lower Elementary since 2002. Dr. Guepet has over 30 years of service in education.

Andy Kivlan, who has served the PRC school system as a coach, athletic director, and assistant principal, will also be retiring at the end of this school year.


bottom of page