top of page

Maroon Tide shuts out PRC 54-0

WRJW's Carey Meitzler with Maroon Tide Head Coach Dodd Lee

Picayune-- Picayune scored on every possession in defeating Pearl River Central 54-0 in the regular season finale at Lee-Triplett Stadium on Friday night.

After forcing a Blue Devil punt on the first possession of the game, Picayune drove 76 yards in 14 plays with David Baker scoring on a 4 yard run. The point after was wide right.

All photos by Randy Brown and videos by Donald Balch

David Baker (11) running through a hole

PRC (1-10, 1-6) mounted an impressive drive, but fumbled at the Maroon Tide 16. Picayune then drove 84 yards on 9 plays with Baker scoring from 1 yard out with 6:08 left in the second quarter. The point after was no good bouncing off the left upright.

On PRC's first play after the kickoff, the Blue Devils fumbled and Picayune recovered at the PRC 35. Shaun Anderson scored on the next play and also ran for the 2 pt conversion to make it 20-0 with 5:43 left in the half.

Shaun Anderson (20) scoring on a 35 yard run

Picayune forced PRC to punt on the Blue Devils' next possession with the Maroon Tide getting the ball back at their own 41. On first down, Tyler Penton connected with Ronald Polk on a 34 pass to the PRC 25. On the next play, Penton completed a 12 yard pass to Peyton Esslinger and then Anderson scored on the next play from 18 yards out. Sami Nagi's extra point was good making it 27-0 with 2:16 left in the half.

Tyler Penton with WRJW's Carey Meitzler

Brian Taylor (33) on his 43 yard touchdown run

In the second half, Picayune got two more touchdowns from Anderson (1,2), a 1 yard run from Jortain Raine, and a 43 yard touchdown run from Brian Taylor.

Austin Samples kicked three extra points and Sami Nagi kicked the other one.

Baker finished with 17 rushes for 130 yards and Anderson had 96 yards on 9 carries. Penton complete 6 of 7 passes for 130 yards.

Picayune (9-2, 6-1) will host Laurel in the first round of the Class 5A playoffs next week (Friday November 3rd) with a 7:00pm kickoff at Lee-Triplett Stadium.


bottom of page