top of page

Supervisors recognize MAS scholarship recipient

During their Wednesday meeting, the Pearl River County Board of Supervisors presented a Mississippi Association of Supervisors County Employee Scholarship Program award. The scholarship awards $500 scholarships to qualifying students in each of Mississippi’s 82 counties. Counties will receive up to two $500 scholarships.

One of this year’s winners for Pearl River County were Zoe Farve. Board President and District 5 Supervisor Sandy Kane Smith presented the scholarship to Farve. Farve is a graduate of Poplarville High School where she was dual enrolled at Pearl River Community College during her senior year. Lauren Tynes is the other recipient and will receive her scholarship at a later date.

Board President Sandy Kane Smith presents Zoe Farve with a MAS scholarship

In order to qualify for the scholarship, students had to present a letter or transcript on school letterhead showing student’s current Grade Point Average, letter on county letterhead showing employment or retirement of sponsor being a non-elected county employee or retired non-elected county employee, plus a typed essay.

If awarded a scholarship, students must sign a Statement of Intent to attend an accredited public Mississippi college, junior or community college, or university for the Fall 2020 semester.



bottom of page