top of page

All three county school districts closed per Governor declaration

Saturday, March 14, 2020 6:32 p.m.

In response to Mississippi Governor Tate Reeve’s declaring a state of emergency in Mississippi due to COVID-19 (Coronavirus), all three school districts in Pearl River County (Pearl River County, Picayune, and Poplarville) will be closed beginning Monday, March 16, 2020, and remain closed through Friday, March 20, 2020.

Pearl River County School Superintendent Alan Lumpkin said that the three districts met and agreed to follow the recommendation of Governor Reeves declaration.

In addition to classes not meeting, all related school activities, including athletics, will not be held this coming week with the schools being closed.

Lumpkin stated that the three districts will stay in close contact with each other and will make a decision on Friday (March 20) as to the status of schools for the following week.

With the emergency declaration, missed days will not be required to be made up.

Hancock County Schools will also be closed.


bottom of page