• Carey Meitzler

Local area football players recognized on MAC Statewide Teams

Area schools were well represented on the Mississippi Association of Coaches (MAC) All State Football Teams announced this weekend in conjunction with the state championship games in Hattiesburg.

Picayune placed six players on the MAC Class 5A team.

Cameron Thomas was chosen as the Offensive Player of the Year and Kade Turnage was chosen as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Deonta Reed and Jay Mickle made the 1st team as offensive linemen. Jaylen Hall was 1st team at defensive back and Elijah Jenkins was chosen 2nd team at defensive line.

Mickle was also recognized at the state championship game as C-Spire Scholar Athlete.

Pearl River Central’s Samuel Lambert was 1st team punter for Class 5A.

In Class 4A, Poplarvile’s Devin Hart made the 1st team on the defensive line and fullback Zac Owen was chosen for the 2nd team.

Also in Class 4A, St Stanislaus wide receiver Dallas Payne was chosen 1st team and his teammate Leon "Lee" Negrotto was the 1st team tight end.

Pass Christian’s Dustin Allison was the 2nd team selection at quarterback for Class 4A.


Pearl River Communications

WRJW Radio 1320 AM  Swap Shop News

Welcome Home Real Estate  Southern Senior 

2438 MS-43, Picayune, MS 39466

(601) 798-4835

Monday 8AM - 6PM

Tuesday  8AM - 6PM

Wednesday  8AM - 6PM

Thursday  8AM - 6PM

Friday  8AM - 6PM

Saturday CLOSED


© WRJW  2020